My First Asana Analysis

Ardha Chandrasana (Open hip pose)

Ardha Chandrasana has always been a pose I struggle with. My hip and Shoulder alignment is always out, and I think that is why I struggle to balance in this pose. My issues of fear, impatience also plays a role.

Proper preparation poses that will help with the pose; Virabhadrasana 2, Uttanasana, Utthita Parsvottanasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana.

Joint movements:
Standing hip in flexion, knees extended, external rotation of raised hip, lateral extension in spine, shoulders abduct

Muscles used:

hamstrings, quadriceps, gluteus medius,gluteus maximus, calfs

Benefits:
Strengthen quadriceps, lengthen hamstrings, strengthen gluteus medius, gluteus maximus, calf muscles.

Demonstration and Instruction:

The entry pose is Utthita Trikonasana to the right side, with left hand resting on left hip. Exhale and press right hand to the side of right foot beyond little toe. Straighten the right leg and simultaneously lift leg leg parallel to the floor. Extend through the left leg to the heel to keep raised leg strong. Rotate upper torso to the left. Utthita Trikonasana is both starting pose and exit pose for Ardha Chandrasana.

In the 2nd picture my alignment of spine is out, my chest is not open and I seem to lean forward with my upper body.

I tried entering from Virabhadrasana2, back leg too far to lift properly

Making use of props as a beginner, using wall for stability and to prevent tilting anteriorly with pelvis. I find it more stabilized and the alignment of my pelvis and spine is more natural. Doing the pose against the wall gives a chance to feel the shape without the challenge of balancing, allowing you to work on proper alignment.Using the kettlebell for placement of my hand rather than floor. Prevent hyper extending elbows and knees. In the 3rd picture I am over extending my elbow probably because I am holding on to the kettlebell and my hand is suppose to be placed firmly on a block or object not grabbing.

Using a higher block is also useful for beginners to help with balancing.

A variation I find useful is when I start in Ardha Uttanasana, spine long pressing hands onto blocks. Extend and lift back leg behind you(like warrior3).Put left hand on hip and open to half moon, if comfortable lift arm on hip to extend shoulders aligned.

Sources I used: International yoga, yoga journal. And Wellness Connection Manuel

I’m just sharing this as it is my first time and I think I did quite well hehehe

4 thoughts on “My First Asana Analysis

  1. very beautiful post. Yoga is not just Asanas but realisation of self. Every human being is devine force, need to understand and function accordingly. Keeping healthy for the purpose is important. Very beautiful write up. love your blog post the way you explained everything is amazing wonder full. thank you so much for sharing awareness among yoga in digital world. keep sharing and stay in touch. if you have any question regarding yoga meditation and spiritual life feel free to ask we will happy to help you. https://www.spirityoga.org/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

