Weightloss vs. Health Journey

Last year I decided to share my weight loss story with WomensHealthMagazine. I loved the fact that they called me for a photo shoot. (I love the camera)  It was an awesome experience. The best part of it all was the fact that I wanted to get my story out there, with the idea of inspiring others.

Well, this year they shared my story in the June issue of Women’s HealthSA Magazine. 

I am so grateful and happy.

Feature in Women’sHealthMagazineSA

That’s all about my Weight Loss but, there is more to that story. 

The Journey

Through my Journey to successfully lose unwanted weight I discovered a new Me.

I’ve learnt that it is actually not that difficult to get rid of bad habits(not only bad eating habits). Everything became a challenge to me. And I am someone who like to succeed in everything I do.

I got to know myself better, I’ve discovered how sad I use to be, how I use to live to please others, how I neglected not only my Health but myself (the inner me). I always mention how I use to find comfort in a glass of red/white wine with cigarettes, it became my “god” it was so bad I use to curb my hunger by drinking alcohol to feel thin the next day, to overcome my stress and anxiety problems. It just affected my health physically and mentally.

I’ve found myself through exercise and eating healthy foods. By finding a balance in my life, to focus on what’s important to Me and not others. I sometimes wish I knew this earlier. To simply focus on the positive side of life. It is not easy as one’s fears come more to light. The ability to deal with challenges with a clear and mentally fit mind is a bonus. Not looking for short cuts but simply dealing with it the right way The Healthy Way.

The Struggle is real

I still struggle with a few issues, emotionally, mentally and physically. But I am coping and dealing with it everyday. I admit, acknowledge and then take action. The beauty of everything is, at the end of the day I come out stronger.

My favourite place: the park

The Physical FitnessI’ve mentioned before that I’ve always been skinny. But, I always dreamt of having a well toned body. My sister always made fun of my skin. I struggled with cellulite from a young age. I am talking about hard cellulite on my thighs, legs, arms, and tummy. 

Since last year when I started to exercise regularly and changed my diet I could see a change. It’s really hard work because even though I exercise that much, right now I didn’t reach my goal yet. In my blogpost “it’s not the tummy it’s the thighs”  I talk about the struggle with the thighs/legs. (Wow it’s a tuff one) I understand now why they say never skip a Leg day.

Yoga/balancing in backyard

I joined the gym recently, and I must say I love the adductor/abductor machines. And guest what? My thighs are leaner and I love them!! That’s a plus point of a gym. The resistance machines gets the body toned much quicker. The only bad thing is, I became lazy to workout at home. However, I won’t forget the fact that I could do it all by myself at home. So I decided to still do my 15 minute workouts daily at home.

First day at Gym
Side plank after gym session

I know only good can come from this journey. So far I’ve done good and have so much in mind for the future.

I will keep on dreaming, believing and Achieve with the help of God.

Locust pose

Let’s do Health

Leave a Reply

