New Year’s Resolutions versus Goals

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS

get-started

 

I don’t find it very productive or realistic at all.

We tend to say when the new year starts we are going to change or stop certain things in our lives. Things like:

  • STOP SMOKING AND DRINKING ALCOHOL
  • START EXERCISING
  • EATING MORE HEALTHY
  • MANAGE FINANCES BETTER
  • CUT OUT NEGATIVE PEOPLE
  • STOP BAD TALKING ABOUT OTHERS
  • SPEND MORE TIME WITH FAMILY

I can mention so many, because that’s what I hear all the time.

So, the first day of the new year is a Holiday! Everyone or most of us are still on holiday or some are only having that one day off. Now I ask the question, that New Year Resolution was suppose to start on the first day of the New Year. “it is a New Year resolution after all”

Then the famous words comes… ah I can still start tomorrow the year just started… why? Because you are still having a lot of fun in the Sun! Enjoying the time with family, lots of food and drinks, happiness and laughter. (Nothing wrong with that though) However, you did not plan well, you did not set boundaries, you did not make a realistic decision, and most of all. the New Year started and you are still stuck  in your old ways….

It is a sad cycle, repeating itself all the time.

GOALS

the-clock

I believe very strongly in GOALS. It can be short term, long term, even mini Goals. It is realistic and Hey! with it comes a Plan + Action .

When we set Goals, we plan because with a goal comes hard work and commitment. We look at the factors which will be having an affect on it, we set boundaries and with all that we start taking action.

When I want to change something that is affecting me in a bad way, I do not say I am going to get rid of it tomorrow or next year. I believe change start NOW! I know for a fact when you keep extending it’ll get much harder to make that change.

If a smoker, drinker, chronic gossiper wants to stop or make a change they need to understand it’ll take time. It is a process, it need hard work and dedication. They will have to start making small changes in order to lessen the habit. It is something that was part of them for so long it is impossible to just STOP. So, I would say that should be a long term goal because it’ll need time and commitment.

I always have Goals in all areas of my life, and whether it is Long term, Short term or Mini Goals I see that I meet them all.

I always make space for the Unexpected; Disappointment; and the GOOD. When you made space for all of that, you are still on the road to SUCCESS!

I would say, setting Goals is much more Realistic and Productive than New Year’s Resolutions.

Don’t wait for tomorrow or worst of all the Next Year to start making Healthy choices in  your life. Start today! Start Now!

LIVING HEALTHY IS MORE THAN CLEAN EATING AND EXERCISE

It is my opinion and experience, there will be others that see it in a different way and it is Okay…

Stay Happy and full fill your Dreams and Goals, I AM!

9_2

Leave a Reply

